Heavy Mech Art

Posted: April 21, 2011 by weldedgrass in Arts, Design, Fashion, Technology
Tags: , , , , , ,

I love mech’s. The heavier the better. They’re the ultimate personal defence suit, Iron Man has got his down to perfection, now its time for the rest of us. This awesome rendering is brought to you by Mike Jensen. Here’s what he had to say:
I was very inspired by the Marine and the Firebat from Starcraft 2. I enjoyed that game a lot and loved the designs so i wanted to achieve something similar. Also I was trying to focus on maneuverability of the character it self. I wanted to create a mech that would have as little self collision as possible.

And wanna know how he did it?
So recently I’ve been working on an eat3d tutorial teaching people how to get hard surface results similar to that of a traditional 3d package. It was just released so I figured I’d upload it.

You can find the tutorial at eat3d.com

The tutorial covers a bit of the concepting, reworking, sculpting the final model, rendering with Vray, and compositing in Photoshop.

Via Geek Tyrant

the grass is greener on the welded side

Leave a Reply

